George J. DeBenedetti Book Prize

The Mount Allison Faculty Association awards a book and cash prize of $250 to a Mount Allison student from any discipline who has a good academic record and who has demonstrated significant involvement in student, university-wide, and/or broader community issues  in areas including but not limited to: social justice activism; labour rights and/or union activities; or advocacy work.

Nominations are solicited every year from all academic staff and the decision is made by the MAFA Executive. The prize is normally awarded at the Annual General Meeting, held in April.

This prize recognizes George J. De Benedetti, Professor of Economics (1968–2000), for his many years of outstanding service to the Mount Allison Faculty Association, Mount Allison University, and Canadian university academic staff.

Advice to Nominators:

To nominate a student please send a letter or email to MAFA that demonstrates the nominee’s qualities based on the criteria above.  Nominations should clearly outline how the nominated student has contributed to a university and/or community issue in areas as described above.

Also, please send or ensure that the nominee sends a copy of their resumé or c.v. and any other supporting documents to MAFA.

George J. De Benedetti

George was heavily involved in the certification of MAFA as our sole bargaining agent in the early 1980s and he served as President, Chief Negotiator and many other Executive positions. He served for many years on the Board of the Federation of New Brunswick Faculty Associations, and his service for the Canadian Association of University Teachers culminated as a member of the executive, chairing its Collective Bargaining and Economic Benefits Committee. He was also involved in numerous local service and social justice organizations.

Past Winners

  • 2023: Janie Brooks
  • 2022: Khandra Barrett
  • 2021: Kiara Bubar
  • 2020: ‘Students4MAFA’ — Laren Bedgood, John Dale, Claire Genest & Shamus Tobin
  • 2019: Hanna Longard and Isabelle Spinney
  • 2018: Shannon Power
  • 2017: Willa McCaffrey-Noviss
  • 2016: Sarah McCallum
  • 2015: Emma Jackson
  • 2014: Alex Whynot
  • 2013: Pat Joyce
  • 2012: Susan Rogers
  • 2011: Amelia Thorpe-Gosley
  • 2010: Mayme LeFurgey
  • 2009: Nicholas Du
  • 2008: Mallory Baxter
  • 2007: Christopher MacDonald
  • 2006: Allison Coady
  • 2005: Nik Basque
  • 2004: Michaela Beder
  • 2003: Erin Rogers
  • 2002: Kate Kennedy
  • 2001: Robin Fairchild-Clennell